top of page

Why I'm Glad I'm Relaxing about Academics

Child 4 is only 6. He has had very little writing practice. When he does practice, letters are uneven and maybe backwards. This is all normal! Fine motor skills can be frustrating for young children. And you know what, I could have spent the last two years trying to help him get better. Instead of hours of building (which is his favorite thing to do), I could have given him workbooks (busywork) to help him get better with small writing motions. Instead, I let him build. This week he decided to try minecraft drawing from You Tube videos (I'll make a post with links after I find them). Suddenly, he's spending hours drawing in detail! I'm seriously impressed. It's going to "click" when they're ready. (And finding what interests them also helps!) I'm so happy for him and this new season of life. I may have another artist!

This picture won't delete :p

bottom of page